Together We’re Right

May 18, 2014 (Written on this date)

Dear Reader,

I’ve been pretty busy with the school year.  I’ve been writing but haven’t had the time to just edit and post.  Thanks for your patience.  If you just happened to find Moments in a Life, WELCOME! I hope you enjoy and come back to visit.  Leave a post if you’d like! <3, Shayla

All day I was feeling something stirring in my heart.  I heard some news from one of my best gal pals.  She told me that she was getting a divorce.  What do you say? Her hope was my hope for her…to be happy.  I remember sitting in front of my fireplace hearing her stories and sharing in her joy because of this new experience she was having.

Today, another friend of mine got married.  I’m very happy for her.  I remember hanging out going for ice cream after Bible study, taking walks in the woods, laughing loud and being silly all before the thoughts of marriage were “truly” entertained.  We haven’t spoken in a few years but when I got the news about her wedding, I was excited!

One of my colleagues got engaged recently.  She confided in me that she is really stressed out about wedding plans.  She wants to be married but she is feeling the balance between work and real life.

One of my aunt’s just got married a year ago today.  She is on her “real” honeymoon with her husband.  This is her first marriage and she is GROWN! I wrote a poem for her and her husband thinking about how I will feel walking towards my future husband.  (This was really the only way I could think to have the inspiration to draft something so meaningful for the occasion.  I wanted something that she would understand as well as any one who has hoped of being married.)  The poem is titled “Coming Home To Me”. I believe that when God brings those two right people together at the right time and the right place it’s like they are coming home to each other.

I’m joyous for the moment when God says, “Shayla, it’s your turn.  He’s ready and so are you.”  Being single right now, I can only hope, pray and wait for him.  And of course, live my life! (LOL!)

A movie that I watched showed an older man recollecting the memories he had with his wife.  She passed away and is no longer with him physically.  There was one scene where she was telling him “We will always love each other.  Our love will go on forever.”  It is special how those memories are the ones he comes back to for encouragement to continue living, even on his own.

What does all this really mean? Well, all five of us are connected.  We are connected because of our hope for happiness in love.  I mean, who doesn’t want that.  I want that.  I’m not afraid to say it.  Looking forward to that, actually.  So, I started writing out these lyrics with a melody that God was placing in my heart.  Many things that God enables me to write come from reflections on experiences in my own life, others’ lives, and the undertones of what is happening in our world.

I truly feel for my friend.  This season in her life may not feel as hurtful for me as it does for her but my hope is that she has the opportunity to love again.  This time with someone who truly loves her back.  From our conversation, I could sense that she was desiring “real” love with someone who is reciprocating those same feelings.  I wrote this song thinking about the idea that the love you feel for someone else is more than a feeling but an energy that allows you to express your love and a security that this feeling is the right feeling.  I’m really trying to convey that feeling of how a person feels when they feel it is right. (Can you count how many times I used the word feeling/feel? Post it in a message back to me.  You may be the recipient of a reward. You can also follow me on twitter: @LadyChanene)   I don’t have much experience in this area so I’m working with stories, movies, inspirations, hopes…those kind of things to help this message mean something to those who need it.

I’m pleased with what this song is becoming.  I have hope for what it will become.  It means something to me.  One day I’ll actually sing it to my husband as a way for him to know that all my waiting has been for him.  This will be just another gift to give him.  I hope that my Aunt finds honor in these lyrics.  Just as I pray for her she prays for me.  I also hope that my friends and family can find encouragement in these lyrics, identify themselves, and hope for happiness in love with this song. The part that I am sharing is the chorus.

Chorus:

I know what I’m feeling if feelings are true but I don’t wanna hide the truth

There’s a kind of love that makes you shout from the ceiling

A kind of love that makes life worth living more

So much more

A kind of love that can go on forever

Even if your not near me I can still feel your heart beating

Along with mine

Together we’re right

**This is still a work in progress.  My hope is that it can encourage someone now to continue to hope and believe in happiness however your story unfolds.  I pray for great success for my friends getting married.  I pray for guidance and love for my friends who are looking forward to starting a relationship or to get married one day .  Remember, everything that you want God wants for you.  His way may be a little different than what you thought but it is a blessed one.

Thank you for sharing this MOMENT with me!!  I look forward to sharing more moments with you as you meander through my little snapshot of the world! Smile, Shayla

Thank you for sharing this MOMENT with me!!  I look forward to sharing more moments with you as you meander through my little snapshot of the world! Smile, Shayla 

Leave a Reply

