To Be Completed

This afternoon, I began to watch interviews about songs that have been encouraging to my spirit.  One song, Alive in Us by Hillsong (written by Reuben Morgan and James Ingram) came to mind.  I remember I had bought the CD, God Is Able, as I was entering into a season of restoration, renewed hope, and healing.  There are so many songs on that CD that was encouraging to my spirit.

This particular song, Alive in Us, held lyrics that jumped off the page and into my heart.

The enemy is under your feet.

We are free.

We are free.

Death has been defeated by love.

You overcome.

You overcome.

Each word spoken in succession was causing me to feel more alive in Christ and in my own person.  It helped to remind me that although circumstances may cause me to feel broken, I am not broken in Christ–He is my mender.  I am not held captive or defined by my past but defined by the power and resurrection of His love and life.  Ultimately, I am an OVERCOMER!

Have you ever been in a situation where you asked the Lord, “Where do I go from here?  How can I go on from this state?  How can this be part of Your plan for me? How can I bounce back from…?”

 I have.

Several times in my life.  Most of it has been me focusing on how others would see this experience as a failure and I will have to live it down.  Why is it that our fear of failure stems out of insecurity about what someone else would see or think? I am growing from that place.  I am learning to be more aware of my short-comings AND my successes.  I can only grow from where I have been.  I can be a bridge of hope by first starting with nothing and God building…building me.

As I listened to an interview, I heard in my spirit, “God completes the thoughts of your heart.  Sometimes we have to let it sit for awhile.” Just like in my songwriting, I may hear a lyric or have a chorus but that’s it.  The rest of the song is not ready to be birthed.  That lyric or chorus just rides along inside my heart until the time is ready.

We are masterpieces in Him that are created overtime.  God is building us into who He has ultimately designed us to be.  The transformation is on-going; it’s continuous.  It’s the best kind of time-consuming effort.  Most of what is happening takes us by surprise and can be unfathomable but in Him we will find that their is a greater purpose.

My friend Blessing said to me yesterday, “We could never feel the depth of pain, hurt, or ridicule that Christ has felt.” No, we never can.  We are both taking HUGE stands for Christ on our jobs, on personal choices, and for God to use.  We have been fasting more frequently and praying everyday before/after work.  It’s because of our stance, she’s has experienced difficulty in her personal life and I have been experiencing on the job.  But there is victory!  We are closer to it now than ever!

Her reminder convicted my spirit and unleashed the sorrow that was trying to build itself around the victorious plan that the Lord has been cultivating in my mind about this school year.  A line in the song says, “in everything be exalted”. God is above the situation and using it to create in me greater character, patience and endurance.

 Every thought unspoken…He has an answer.  Every thought lost in time…will be recovered. Every unanswered thought will come forth in a way that will amaze you. The thoughts from your childhood have never been forgotten by a God that loves you.

Who will I….

When will I…

Why do they never…

I don’t understand…

What’s wrong with….

I wish that…

Will this ever….

When will your promise for me….

Can I…

Why am I afraid that…

God, I thought that….

Do you really have the best in mind for Me?

God completes the thoughts of your heart.  

“God does not tell you to begin something then leave halfway through it.  He is a wise builder and an expert craftsman.  He is the Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end.  He finishes what He starts.” ~ J. Lee Grady

What God starts, He completes. “I’m convinced that God, who began this good work in you, will carry it to completion on the day of Christ Jesus.” (Phil. 1:6)  The way that it unfolds may seem peculiar but it will bring Him glory in the end.  I encourage you as I encourage myself, that nothing can stop the GOOD things that God has planned…even in the moments of uncertainty God is reigns. This is one thing that we can be certain.

Thank you for sharing the MOMENT with me.  I look forward to sharing more moments with you as you meander through my little snapshot of the world.

Smile,

Shayla ❤

P.S. I also included the song with lyrics!!

3 thoughts on “To Be Completed

    • Sneaha,
      Thank you so much for responding to this message!! This a kind of “I’m going through but I trust that God is going to work it all out for my good” message. It is by His grace that I am able to choose to wait on Him to turn this tide. Your encouragement this week has been truly helpful and brought a smile to my face.
      Love,
      Shayla

      • Oh WOW! Praise God! it is so awesome to know that God is using both of us to encourage each other! Love you Shayla! God is going to use you mightily! 🙂

Leave a Reply

