Worth the Wait

“God has perfect timing; never early, never late.  It takes a little patience and it takes a lot of faith but it’s worth the wait.” ~ Author Unkown

One verse in scripture that I often struggle with is: Wait upon the Lord.  Maybe it is the word “wait”.  I mean, I am a very patient person.  Some could say one of the most ideal long-sufferers but when it comes to “waiting on the Lord” I haven’t quite mastered that yet. (Don’t fret, I have until the return of Christ!) It may have something to do with me being three months premature…I must have been impatiently waiting for my arrival into this world.  Only God knows.  One definition that I’ve found for the meaning of wait is: to stay where one is or delay action until a particular time or until something else happens. Although I may have arrived on this Earth impatiently, the rest of my life has been spent patiently waiting for the beauty of what God has planned to be unfolded.  Some things I didn’t have to wait for as long as others.

CAUTION: ENTERING A PERSONAL MOMENT ZONE!!!

For example, when I was a young(-er) lady I went through the process of puberty.  Being the shy little girl that I was (and still am at times), I could not conceal the changes that were happening on the outside and inside of my body.  One particular change caused tremendous speculation and an uproar in my family.  Around the 4th grade, I began to show signs of needing a “training” bra.  (I mean, really, what am I training for…nothing was going to “come-off” like wheels on a bike.  They should probably call them preparatory bras and include a manual on how to endure social, mental, and familial ridicule because of a piece of white lace fabric with a pink bow in the center.) Anyway, (I feel embarrassed typing this…boy, am I my father’s daughter) I developed the need for a training bra before one of my older cousins.  I remember spending the night over her house and changing into my night gown.  Yes, I said night gown.  People actually still go to bed in things like these.  Mine was silk with a little lace at the top, very girlie!  I overhead her talking to my Aunt about me having a “chest” and she didn’t have one yet.  I felt so awkward and embarrassed. Not only did I feel self-conscious on my own, now one of my older cousins was making me feel worse because I’m experiencing this rite of passage first!  I know that it wasn’t meant in harm but I still felt kind of bad that she wanted what I wanted to get rid of.  So I yelled out with tears in my eyes, “You can have them!  I don’t even want them!”  The rest is just a blur…but a while ago I had this same conversation with her daughter and “the story” that has been made famous.  ( We are both fully developed women now and that is all that matters!  Love you!)

Isn’t it funny that sometimes what we don’t want or what we aren’t ready for comes because it is our time?  God is allowing it to happen.  But there are times when we are waiting, waiting, waiting, waiting, waiting, waiting and waiting (and waiting) for other things to turn around in our lives but God is putting the brakes on it.  There is a laundry list of things that I could share that I am waiting on…but then I stop to think am I ready? If the thing that I desire the most came right now, would I be who I need to be to fully appreciate it?  I asked the Lord a question about a prayer request of mine and He said, “You will be ready.”  To me, He is telling me that He is preparing me for my request.  Even if I don’t feel like I am ready, ultimately He knows and will open that door. Last night, I read a quote from a friend that said, “You’re worth waiting for.”  That quote reminds me of a song that I wrote back in college titled “Wait”.  (How appropriate, Shayla! Why, thank you reader!)  The song is about waiting for the person that the Lord has reserved for you.  My hope with song  I wrote when at 18 years old was to encourage other young women like me to wait for the man that God has for you.  The one He will send to you or cause you to come across in his life.

I am still waiting.  I feel good about it because I trust that the Lord will cause him to find me.  Waiting is hard but I have always found beauty in watching a love story unfold.  It is in the waiting that is a true test…especially when someone comes along that seems to mirror who you hold in your heart (that God-defined person; he can’t really be explained to others but no one else can seem to take his place. Yeah, that guy! For my male followers: Yeah, that girl!) A colleague of mine said to me last year that when “he” comes along you will know because it will be like “you’ve always known each other; almost like you are just picking up where you left off.”  Isn’t that a cool thought?  (I’m excited!!! And I just can’t hide it…I know…I know…I know…sorry born in the 80s!)  Last night before bed I started singing the bridge of this song and praying to the Lord to let it one day be of use and an encouragement to young ladies (and gents).  As I sang, I recorded the song and in my mind I could see the faces of the young ladies I am teaching now.  The same ones that are rushing into having boyfriends at age 9/10/11!  I don’t even have a boyfriend and I am 10+ their age. (Venting now…I’m patient…very patient. Lol!) The bridge goes like this…. (when you click on wait  it will lead you to a power point file to hear the song…recorded really late at night like after 12 a.m…it’s really the essence behind it)

Wait

Maybe it will take a lifetime

Or maybe it will take a friend to open your heart

All and all know you’re beautiful

And you’re worth waiting on

You’re worth waiting for

So wait on

Wait on

He’s coming for you

He’s coming for you

For some people, it has taken a lifetime. And for others it has been a friend that the Lord brought into your life.  Really, it is not all about “who” but about “you” and your response to the waiting.  All of us have different experiences on how we have chosen to wait or be satisfied.  (I personally want total satisfaction…Holding Out for My Heart’s Hero…I mean I don’t even like cold french fries…why would I settle for anything less in a husband.)  There is no shame in it because God’s story is a story of beauty.  How many times have I cheated on the Lord (who is my first husband) with crushes over my life?  Let’s not count.  He loves me anyway.  However you choose to wait….I encourage you to pray for your future mate and write down a list of the things that you desire in a mate.  I wrote a list of 10 things (with the encouragement of my pastor) and I have been praying for my husband (very specifically) every day.

Just to help you out, I will share two things from my list…

1. He must be a man of God (saved, strong relationship with the Lord, reads his Bible, prays, heart for God’s people, a heart to worship)

2. Sense of humor (he can make me laugh…life is so much better with laughter)

Now I have a pretty strong list there but I do get more specific.  God knows the kind of man that I am attracted to so I didn’t write about physical features but I really thought about the kind of man I want to spend my life with and raise a family with.  Those points really helped me to tailor my list.  Create your list based on what is important to you and take time to pray about your mate using your list often.  Also, try to be productive and ask God to lead you to work on things that you are passionate about as you wait.  We are purposeful people…our aim should not be just to be married but to help to usher in the coming of the Lord with the gifts and talents He has given us.

I feel strongly about this topic…mainly because I am a Lady in Waiting and it helps to encourage me.  I hope that this has been an encouragement to you.  There may be variations of this message in the future so be on the lookout.  Hopefully, less verbal! Lol!

Thank you for sharing this MOMENT with me!!  I look forward to sharing more moments with you as you meander through my little snapshot of the world!

Smile,

Shayla ❤

2 thoughts on “Worth the Wait

  1. YOU ARE SUCH A BLESSING! I REALLY REALLY needed this.. Praise God.
    you know what, I’ve been an ‘early bloomer’ too, and it really annoyed me so much because I was the 1st among my friends and they made me feel weird… but it was part of God’s plan and I praise Him!

  2. God’s timing is perfect. It may not be our timing but how He does it fits. I would hope not to wait all of my life but what time I will have with my future husband, God will cause it to be a lifetime. Why? That is what my faith expects. I’d rather be happy with who I am meant to be with than wishing I would have waited. I know how it feels to be hurt, rejected, and so forth….I wouldn’t want it any other way. Besides if I waited this long…what is a while longer. I guess their is more for me to do for Him and not my husband and I together. 🙂
    Love,
    Shayla

Leave a Reply

