Reaction Gets Action

Sometimes it takes a reaction to get an action. ~Shayla Gordon

I feel like I’m on the brink of something BIG! Something bigger than me.  Something that started in the lives of two men about 30 years ago.  There was a seed planted in their hearts and minds by their parents to take life by the bootstraps and not let life take you.  Seth Bolt, the bassist of my FAVORITE band NEEDTOBREATHE, and his brother Chandler wrote a book that I believe will give a reaction that will cause action.  

These men spent one week working on a creation that will alter the lives of many–in a positive way.  (Personally, I’m still reeling at the thought of completing a task of this magnitude in one week! A teacher’s timer must have been their best friend!) They wrote a book titled “Breaking Out of A Broken System”.  The purpose of this book is to share the lessons their parents taught them that led to a life foundation and has helped them to become equally successful in their chosen careers.  Seth is a musician, producer, recording artist and entrepreneur and Chandler is a successful entrepreneur and author. ( who co-authored “The Productive Person” which can be found on http://www.amazon.com)

The WHYS?

The word that comes to mind when I think about one of the “whys” for writing this book is “honorship”.  

hon*or*ship

1. the act of reverence and adoration towards someone you honor (deem important)

HONORSHIP. The honorship shown towards their parents is one reason that contributed to me being a sold-out buyer of the book.  Where would we be without our parents? Hmmm….not alive? Exactly.  Despite the lessons learned (negative or positive) your purpose for being here was not a mistake.  We may have arrived by our parents but we ARRIVED.

“Each of us has a voice, a song, and a purpose….” ~Seth Bolt 

PURPOSE. This book is about taking all the broken messages and undertones of your life and breaking out into your own voice, song and purpose. This book, for me, is like a return to self.  The book is interwoven with stories, humor, insight, wisdom, and a call to action.  I feel like it came at a time when I needed to hear it the most.  It was like HOPE on the pages of a book. 

HOPE~Ain’t nothing false about HOPE.  ~ Jesse Duplantis

There is nothing false about this book because it has been lived out and tested.  It challenges you to live out and test it for yourself.  Every chapter, or day, has an authentic application that will help to mold you into a better you. For instance, I am becoming more a of a baker because of it.  My baking menu seems to be various muffins!

Reader: Shayla, come on now…baking. The book inspires you to bake.

Shayla: Among other things.  Yes, and I wanted to become a better baker and I’m using time to do that. Also, it is inspiring me to live my life, try new things, not get stuck in a rut, believe that the impossible is attainable through time, effort, patience and practice. Not to forget about failures that will lead to successes. (Can I get an Amen?!)

Reader: Ok. I get where this is going.  Proceed and amen!

LIFE. Seth and Chandler’s hope is that this book will help them to save the lives of our brothers and sisters in Africa who are dying from a disease that has a CURE. Yes, there is a cure. They are dying from malaria. (Once again, TOTALLY curable!)  My students’ reaction was “Ms. Gor-dan! (Baltimore City accent) Why are they dying and there is a cure?!” Me: “These people are dying because we need to become more aware on how we can help.”  Dum-dee-doody-dum. (Fourth-graders minds turning.) Then, they proceeded to give me all the ways “we” can help. (I’ll share these in a later blog.) 

I love that their first reaction led to an action, to have an idea. Ideas. Ideas that will lead to plans.  Plans that will lead to an execution. An execution that will lead to another idea, and so forth. (This is such a teacher thing.)

~Back to Seth and Chandler’s idea~

These men decided to write this book for two reasons: (taken from Breaking Out of A Broken System)

  1. To make our parents live forever by sharing and celebrating 15 of their greatest primary lessons for successful living.
  2. To raise money for charity in a creative way. 

Their goal is to help save the lives of 10,000 people by using a book.  

1 book = 1 life.  

This is not a two man army.  It is not an army at all. It is a team of DIFFERENCE MAKERS. A team that you can join.  On March 4, 2014 this book will be launched. (Has launched as of 12:00 a.m.) Be a part of the reaction that is leading to action by:

Show Honorship.  Live  your Purpose. Save a Life. Buy a book.

Please stay tuned for more updates about the book and my reflections from the book. 

Thank you for sharing this MOMENT with me!! I look forward to sharing more moments with you as you meander through my little snapshot of the world!

Smile,

Shayla

Image

 

Leave a Reply

